*Deep breath*
*Slow exhale*
I love that "new blog" smell, don't you? It's been a while since I did this. Pretty much I started college and never had time for anything but that. Or maybe, once I started college my entire life consisted of things that everybody else thought was gross and disgusting. I mean really, who wants to read a blog about body fluids and bacteria and blood diseases and parasites? Actually, that doesn't sound too bad.
Well, I graduated earlier this year (I'm a legit MLT, woot woot!), and now I guess I have more time than I used to. No tests, no quizzes, no studying. Just work. So I realized recently that I have extra time and I miss blogging, soooo...I'm back in the game!
School was...a strange mixture of stress and fun. It was a lot of both. Fun wins, hands down. I miss school sometimes. I miss studying late into the night with classmates at Village Inn, eventually when it got too late everything would become hilarious and the studying would be over. I miss that. I miss drawing funny pictures on my tests (which usually had to do with whatever was hilarious the night before at Village Inn), and imagining the look on the teacher's face when they saw it. I miss asking questions in lab that made no sense (on purpose) just to see the look on my teacher's face when, for a split second before they realized I was kidding, they thought I was really that stupid. I feel kinda bad for my teachers now that I think about all the dumb stuff we did. OH WELL! It builds character. Someday they'll thank me.
However, I do not miss tests. I do not miss homework. I don't miss being broke. I don't miss the feeling of impending doom before every single test I ever took, even if I had studied my brains out. And I do NOT miss getting up at 4 am for clinicals, getting done with that at 9 am and then cramming for a test shortly after. Those days were not kind to me. And I do not miss them. Granted, sometimes I still have to get up before 5 for work, but there aren't any tests after I get off and I don't have to stay up until midnight the night before studying, so it doesn't really compare.
My life is a different set of priorities now. I'm an adult, I guess. I have to do adult-ish things, like read boring mail and go to bed early and not drink coffee after 3 pm. But I think even adults should be able to have fun, every day. Especially adults. And if that means staying up past midnight sometimes even when I have work in the morning, or driving fast on country roads just to feel the wind blowing around me, or buying something unnecessary when I should be saving for a car, or breaking any of the other rules that adult life says I should live by, then that's what I'm going to do. Because I refuse to live a monotonous life, to just exist for the sake of existing. I'm going to have fun if it kills me.
That's all for now! Stay tuned and don't change that dial (and if your TV still has a dial, get a new one!).
*Cue the song "the boys are back in town"*